TRAFFIC STOP

Massachusetts RMV Lawyer

550 Cochituate Rd., Suite 25
Framingham, MA 01701
508-656-0057
508-302-0212 (fax)
E-MAIL:
ATTORNEY@RMVAPPEAL.COM

 







 

Hardship License, RMV Appeal, suspension, DWI, DUI, OUI, work license, ignition interlock device

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mass. RMV Lawyer


550 Cochituate Rd., Suite 25
 

Framingham, MA 01701
 

508-656-0057
 

508-302-0212 (fax)
 

E-MAIL:

ATTORNEY@RMVAPPEAL.COM

Our dedicated staff of RMV Appeal  Attorneys will work hard to get you back on the road LEGALLY.

With the harsh consequences associated with Operating After Suspension / Revocation, why drive on a suspended or revoked license when you may be able to get a Hardship License or a full license reinstatement?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

RMVAppeal.com © 2007
Privacy Policy | Terms Of Use

Massachusetts DUI Penalties

PENALTIES FOR DUI IN MASSACHUSETTS

Penalties for Massachusetts DUI offenses are primarily governed by G.L. c. 90 § 24, which was recently amended by Melanie's Law. The penalty is determined by the individual's prior record, with gradually harsher penalties for repeat offenses.

If your Massachusetts license is suspended or revoked for Operating Under the Influence of Liquor (OUI, DWI, DUI), you may be able to get a limited or hardship license. Contact an RMV Appeal Attorney for legal assistance.
 

Massachusetts DUI - First Offense

Jail: Not more than 2 1/2 years House of Correction

Fine: $500 - $5,000

License: 1 year suspension

Hardship License: work/education hardship license considered in 90 days; general hardship license considered in 6 months

First Offense DUI - Alternative Disposition

This "alternative disposition" is commonly referred to as "24D."

Probation & assignment to a Massachusetts First Offender Alcohol Education Program approved by the Department of Public Health. The approximate cost of this program is $600.00. 

License: License suspended for 45 - 90 days, with a 210 day license suspension for drivers under 21 years of age.

Hardship License: Hardship License considered upon entry into and completion of in-take session of the alcohol program. However, you must wait 3 business days after the court date before appearing at certain Registry offices for your hearing. You must have proof of alcohol education program enrollment. Contact a RMV Appeal Attorney regarding this important hearing.  

 

Mass. DUI - Second Offense

Jail: 30 days mandatory, not more than 2 1/2 years

Fine: $600 - $10,000

License: revoked for 2 years

Hardship License: Work/education hardship license considered in 1 year; general hardship license considered in 1 1/2 year.

 

Second Offense DUI - Alternative Disposition

2 Years Supervised Probation

14 day in-patient Alcohol Education Program (at defendant's expense)

License: suspended for 2 years

Hardship License: Work/education hardship license considered in 1 year; general hardship license considered in 1 1/2 year.

Ignition interlock device is required for 2 years.

If your prior DUI offense occurred more than 10 years ago, you may be eligible for a "first offender" 24D disposition. However, the Mass. Registry would still consider you a second offender for license reinstatement purposes.

 

Massachusetts DUI - Third Offense

Jail: 150 days mandatory, not more than 5 years in State Prison. Sentence may be served in Alcohol Treatment Facility

Fine: $1,00 - $15,000

License: revoked for 8 years

Hardship License: Work/education hardship license considered in 2 years; general hardship license considered in 4 years.

 

Massachusetts DUI - Fourth Offense

Jail: 1 year minimum mandatory, up to 5 years in state prison. Sentence may be served in Alcohol Treatment Facility

Fine: $1,00 - $15,000

License: 10 year suspension

Hardship License: Work/education hardship license considered in 5 years; general hardship license considered in 8 years.

 

Massachusetts DUI - Fifth Offense

Jail: 2 year minimum mandatory, up to 5 years in state prison.

Fine: $2,000-$50,000

License: revoked for life

Hardship License: no possibility of a hardship license.

If your Massachusetts License is Suspended because of OUI, you are entitled to a Hearing before the Board of Appeal.

Our License Reinstatement Specialists may be able to help you obtain a Hardship License or overturn the license suspension entirely.

Contact one of our attorneys for a free consultation & review of your driving record.

massachusetts hardship license, mass. dui, mass. oui, dui penalties, license suspension

Note: If you have been convicted of OUI 2nd offense or greater, you are required to have an ignition interlock device installed on any vehicle which you own, lease, or operate. This includes employer's vehicles. Contact a RMV Appeal Attorney for more information on these devices.

Lower Per Se Limit for Commercial Drivers License (CDL) Holders

If you are tested with .04 BAC, you will be disqualified from operating a commercial vehicle for not less than one year. It is generally not possible to get a hardship CDL. If you are able to obtain a Mass. Hardship License, it will be a Class D - regular passenger car license.

Lifetime Look-back

Massachusetts law now allows for a "lifetime look-back," meaning the court may consider prior OUI convictions when assessing a penalty at sentencing. This means that any conviction on a drunk driving charge from decades ago may cause your case may be counted as a second (2nd) or third (3rd) offense, instead of the 1st offense you were expecting. When calculating offenses, both Massachusetts drunk driving convictions as well as any out of state DUI offenses will count. 
 

Fax your driving and/or criminal record to an RMV Appeal Attorney at 508-302-0212 for a free review.

_____________________________________________________________________

RMVappeal.com | Hardship License | FAQ's | Mandatory License Suspensions | Melanie's Law  Discretionary License Suspensions | Board of Appeal | Ignition Interlock Devices | Mass. Suspensions & Revocations | Obtaining your Mass. Driving Record | Obtaining your Mass. Criminal Record (CORI)  Contact an Attorney | Criminal License Suspensions | About our RMV Appeal Lawyers | 24D Program  Links | Massachusetts DUI Laws | Massachusetts DUI Penalties | Breathalyzer | Surchargable Events | NDR

The information contained on this site is offered for informational purposes only and is not legal advice. This information is not intended to create, and receipt of it does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship. Readers should not act upon this information without seeking professional counsel.